City of East Wenatchee Business License
Chapter 5.04 of the City of East Wenatchee Municipal Code requires that every person engaging in business within the city limits of East Wenatchee to register their business and obtain a business license; this includes home based businesses and out of town contractors.
Businesses operating in multiple locations within the city, must license each location separately.
Businesses located outside the city that engage in business activity inside the city limits, must obtain a business license. To determine the appropriate fee only count employees working within the city limits.
The City of East Wenatchee partnered with the Department of Revenue’s Business Licensing Service (BLS) on September 21, 2017. City of East Wenatchee’s business licenses and renewals are now processed through the Department of Revenue's BLS which provides a “one-stop-shopping” for business when maintaining and renewing City and State licenses.
WA State law requires that all cities partner with BLS by December 31, 2022 (RCW 35.90.020(a)).
To apply for a NEW BUSINESS LICENSE
- Click on the link above and Go to the State of Washington Business Licensing Services website. Follow the prompts, Apply, Get a Washington state business license.
- Payments on line can be made with a credit card.
- You may apply on line or by mail. Paper forms may be obtained and completed at the local Wenatchee, Department of Revenue Office.
Located: 630 N Chelan Ave Ste B3, Wenatchee, WA 98801
Phone number: 509-885-9825, Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m
Approximately six weeks before your current license expires, the Business Licensing Service will send you a license renewal letter with instructions on how to renew your City of East Wenatchee business license. You may use E-check or credit card to make a payment online. If you prefer to renew your license by mail using the BLS renewal form, please do so in plenty of time to reach BLS before the expiration date and include a check made out to DOR for the appropriate amount or visit the Wenatchee office to make the payment. If the renewal is received after the expiration date, a late filing fee will be assessed as authorized by RCW19.02.085.
All fees are paid to the Washington State Department of Revenue. Businesses will continue to pay the license fee assessed according to the number of persons employed within city limits, whether full time or part time including owners.
2020 Basic License fee
Number of Persons Employed:
51 and over ..….$439.00
B. Beginning January 1, 2018, on January 1st of each year, the city will increase the basic license fee by 100 percent of the U.S. Consumer Price Index of Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) August to August statistics for the West Urban Region for the preceding 12 months, rounded up to the nearest whole dollar.
C.An applicant must pay the fee for a business license in full at the time the application is submitted, and annually thereafter on or before its expiration date. (Ord. 17-13 § 5, 2017; Ord. 15-17 § 4, 2015; Ord. 15-04 § 5 (Exh. A), 2015; Ord. 99-12 § 1, 1999; Ord. 305 § 7, 1980. Formerly 5.04.070)
271 9th Street NE
East Wenatchee, WA 98802
State of Washington Business Licensing Service